More free performances for kids at local library branches

Chances are you know all about the free summer performances for kids at various Live Oak public library branches in Chatham, Effingham & Liberty counties. If you don’t know about them, click here for the schedule.

But there are also special programs that are presented by Live Oak’s children’s librarians. The librarians travel from the branches where they normally work to other branches throughout the system to present a program they created based on the theme, which this year is “Dig Into Reading”.

Here are their free programs:

Stone Stories

Dig into a special sack full of story stones! Hear what stories the stones have to tell and then make your very own story stone! Ages 4 to 10. Presented by children’s librarian Sha Dishong.

W. W. Law Library, 236-8040
Monday, July 1, 10:30 a.m.

Hinesville Library, 368-4003
Thursday, July 11, 3 p.m.

Oglethorpe Mall Library, 925-5432
Wednesday, July 24, 3 p.m.

Springfield Library, 754-3003
Thursday, July 25, 3 p.m.

Bull Street Library, 652-3600
Monday, Aug. 5, 10:30 a.m.

Wiggly Worm Races

Learn all about the wiggly worms that live beneath our feet as you race against your friends with these real live creepy crawlies! Ages 5 and up. Presented by children’s librarian Amber Pulley.

Midway Library, 884-5742
Tuesday, June 25, 4 p.m.

Southwest Chatham Library, 925-8305
Tuesday, July 23, 3 p.m.

Wii Dance!

It’s a dance party at the library!  Practice your dance moves with your friends! Ages 10 and up. Presented by librarian Mark Darby.

Forest City Library, 238-0614
Saturday, June 22, 3 p.m.

Tybee Library, 786-7733
Monday, June 24, 3 p.m.

Hinesville Library, 368-4003
Saturday, July 6, 3 p.m.

Thunderbolt Library, 354-5864
Monday, July 15, 3 p.m.

Oglethorpe Mall Library, 925-5432
Saturday, Aug. 3, 3 p.m.

Bull St. Library, 652-3600
Tuesday, Aug. 6, 3 p.m.

I Dig Getting Dirty

Do you like dirt and mud? Do you like bubbles and baths? Then you will enjoy these books, songs, and activities all about the fun of getting dirty and clean! Ages 2 and up. Presented by children’s librarian Alissa Boyd.

Tybee Library, 786-7733
Wednesday, July 10, 1:30 p.m.

Southwest Chatham Library, 925-8305
Tuesday, June 25, 3 p.m.

Pooler Library, 748-0471
Monday, July 22, 10:30 a.m.

Islands Library, 897-6233
Monday, July 29, 10:30 a.m.

Ready, Set, Grow!

Explore the diverse world of a backyard garden through songs, stories and play! Ages 2-5. Presented by children’s librarian Mary Wood.

Springfield Library, 754-3003
Thursday, June 27, 10:30 a.m.

Forest City Library, 238-0614
Tuesday, July 16, 11 a.m.

Oglethorpe Mall Library, 925-5432
Thursday, July 25, 10:30 a.m.

Creating Stories through Music

Use musical themes to inspire creative writing! Ages 10 and up. Presented by children’s librarian Betsy Stow.

Hinesville Library, 368-4003
Wednesday, June 26, 6:30 p.m.

Springfield Library, 754-3003
Thursday, July 18, 3 p.m.

Southwest Chatham, 925-8305
Thursday, Aug. 1, 3 p.m.

Comments are closed.

Switch to our mobile site