Savannah mom is the only candidate in the race for Savannah-Chatham School Board President with a student in the public school system

Jolene Byrne for Savannah Chatham School Board PresidentWe’re thrilled that a Savannah mom whose child attends Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools is running for Savannah Chatham County school board president.

Jolene Byrne is a mother, an educator and the only parent in this race with a child in public school.  Jolene Byrne is the candidate you’ll want to support if your children will eventually attend or are already attending public schools.

Learn more about Jolene Byrne by liking her Jolene Byrne For School Board President Facebook page here & visiting her campaign Web site here.

Jolene Byrne for Savannah Chatham School Board President Byrne, 34, divides her time between teaching sociology at Armstrong Atlantic State University and directing the religious education program at the Unitarian Universalist Church of Savannah. She previously taught sociology at Savannah State University.

Byrne is active in our community. She has tutored students at the West Broad YMCA as a volunteer for the Junior League, helped to organize children’s health awareness events, and regularly volunteers at the Inner City Night Shelter. Jolene is passionate about the power of public education to lift up individuals, families and entire communities.

Just a snippet from Byrne:

“I am running because I believe in the power of public education to lift up children, families, and entire communities. It is fundamentally wrong that any child should be denied an excellent education just because they don’t live in a particular zip code or don’t win a lottery. While some schools are failing our children, others are models of success. I believe we should be replicating these models so more children have the opportunity to attend schools that work…”

Read more about Byrne here.

Byrne is running in the non-partisan race to replace Dr. Joe Buck as President of the Savannah-Chatham County School Board. Buck cannot run again because of term limits.  The election is May 20, 2014.

Comments are closed.